David Cameron speech: UK and the EU

david cameronOne year ago today David Cameron made clear his view on a referendum about Britain’s position in Europe.  Personally I think this is a clever political manoeuvre in preparation for the next election and ousting UKIP and the Lib Dems!

 

Shake It All About

“Should we be in, should we be out?
I’ll let the people have first shout.
Should we sink, should we swim?
Should we be out, should we be in?
Should we go, should we stay
in the EU?  I wish I knew.
I’ll give the people the first say,
but tomorrow, not today,
not in this term but the next.
That would be best, that would be best
for everyone, both you and me,
and for this great, this great country.
You’ll have a voice, you’ll have a choice.
A referendum there will be.
It’s called democracy.
So vote for me.”

So said David Cameron with a wily grin.
“With choice of out or choice of in,
no need for UKIP now, no how.
So all you UKIP guys be wise.
Dump Farage, the wet blancmange.
Vote for me and then you’ll see
that if you do the pact is through,
the Lib Dems out, of that no doubt
and we’ll achieve what I want most –
Nick Clegg a ghost, Nick Clegg a ghost
consigned to history.
So vote for me.”

“I say what I mean and I mean what I say.
I talk the walk and I walk the talk.
So if you want your voice, want your say,
want UKIP and Lib Dems away,
want a true democracy,
then vote for the future not the past.
Make this country great at last
and vote for me, vote for me.”

 

23rd January 2013 – headline from the BBC

Notes:  “David Cameron speech: UK and the EU”.  The prime minister said he wanted to renegotiate the UK’s relationship with the EU and then give people the “simple choice” between staying in under those new terms, or leaving the EU as he pledged an in/out referendum if the Conservatives win the election.

Leave a Reply

