World’s Oldest Creature Is A 507-Year-Old Mollusc Named Ming… Or Was Until It Was Killed By Scientists

So we’ve done it again.  Ming the mollusc, confirmed today as the oldest living creature, had been enjoying life on the sea-bed until caught and killed in the interest of scientific research.  But what if there was more to Ming than meets the eye.  Today was also the day that the world’s greatest living cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar, played his final shot.quahog clam

 

 

 

 

 

Ming

There I was,
lying in the sand,
minding my own business,
thinking life was grand,
when along came a net
and scooped me from my bed
driving thoughts of cricket
from my muddled head.
Sachin Tendulkar
played his parting shot today,
so says my mollusc radar
tuned in to far Bombay.
So much history
has passed me by
as I lay her contemplating
the answer to why.
Five hundred years,
cogito ergo sum;
of the wonders of the universe
am I the greatest one?
Then some mad scientist
yanked me from the sea
and laid me on a bench
in his laboratory.
He shucked me with a knife
to get a look inside,
threatening my life.
Now Ming the clam has died.

Enjoy your day, human being.
You think you’re cool
but the quahog clam’s the one that rules
the future that you’re seeing.

14th November 2013 – headline from the Huffington Post

Notes:  “World’s Oldest Creature Is A 507-Year-Old Mollusc Named Ming… Or Was Until It Was Killed By Scientists.”  It’s time to rewrite history: The world’s oldest living creature has been revealed as a 507-year-old quahog clam, or at least it was until a team of scientists managed to kill it by opening it up for analysis.  Ming the mollusc, so named after the Chinese dynasty in power when it came into being, was minding its own business on the seabed off the north coast of Iceland, when it was dredged by researchers from Bangor University’s School of Ocean Sciences in 2006.

Leave a Reply

